Happy Birthday, Dad! Explosion Pop-Up Box

Happy Birthday, Dad! Explosion Pop-Up Box

Completed Explosion Box

My dad’s birthday isn’t until the end of August, but a few weeks ago I was dying to finally try my hand at an easy explosion pop-up box and I needed a theme.

I started with the Naturally Eclectic DSP and chose a few prints featuring Emerald Green and Night of Navy.

Naturally Ecletic Meme

I knew I wanted to use the Large Letter Framelits for the word ‘dad’ and so I went ahead and precut out those letters. I also knew it was going to be a birthday theme so I used Stamp Set Big On Birthdays for some of the word sentiments. I stamped the phrases I wanted onto Whisper White scraps and cut them out with various sizes of the ovals from the Stitched Shaped Framelits and set them aside as well. My ink choices were: Lemon Lime Twist, Emerald Envy and Night of Navy.

142877G

When making a fun project such as this, getting all the pieces together first, before assembly is always helpful! It makes creating your project super fun and very easy. After all, easy is really what I was going for.

Recipe for Assembly:

  • Start with a half sheet of cardstock of your choice. (5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″)
  • Score on the long side at: 2″, 4″, 6″ and 8″
  • Turn the cardstock sideways and on the short side score at 2-3/4″
  • You will need 2 insert pieces. The insert pieces are 2-3/4″ x 3″ and you’ll score them at 1/2″ and 2-1/2″.

Extras:

  • I also used a few strips of Window Sheets to attach my goodies.
  • I used the Balloon Bouquet Punch to create three birthday balloons out of DSP
  • Whisper White Solid Baker’s Twine for my balloon tails
  • Tear-n-Tape to attach items
  • Glue Dots and Fast Fuse

 

Assembly is quite easy!

First, you cut out the skinniest side of your box to create a tab and burnish three of your score lines. Cut up the sides and create your box. VERY IMPORTANT SIDE NOTE ~ leave one of the sides unburnished to create the back of your box. This allows for a fun message to be written for the recipient.

Back of Explosion Box

Next, you take your insert pieces and burnish the score lines. Glue only on both skinny sides and attach to the inside of the box to attach your window sheets.

side view of explosion box

Can you see how the inserts hold the window sheets? Continue decorating your box until you are finished. The key is to make sure all your decorations are within the box when closed. That way it folds and slides into the envelope.

Flat Fold Explosion Box

I think this warrants a video in the future! Stay tuned for that and thank you for stopping by today! I’m so glad you did. Remember, I love hearing from you. You can comment below!!

I’ll be seeing you,

signature-for-blog

If you’d like any of the supplies, to shop, or to get a catalog, please feel free to contact me, and of course you can shop now online Stampin Up! US directly through me by clicking the ‘shop now’ button above. 

Shop-Now-Button-300x83

If shopping online remember to use the current hostess code (located at the top right of my blog) to help support me. If your order is more then $150 please do not use this code as you become the hostess and get the rewards. As always, I love hearing from you either by commenting here on this post or through email at: thepapercraftaddict@gmail.com.

August 2017 Host Code

 

Leave a Reply

